AI Girlfriend Cost in 2026: Real Monthly Budgets, Tokens and Pricing Traps

What an AI girlfriend really costs per month in 2026, from the platforms' published plans: subscriptions vs tokens, what a token allowance buys, yearly vs weekly billing, and the pricing traps to check before you pay.

Editorial team covering the AI companion category. We research each platform from its own site, pricing, policies and public user feedback, score it on eight weighted categories, and disclose affiliate links. See our methodology for how ratings are made.

Updated Published 31 min readAbout our methodology

If you have ever reached a checkout screen and thought "that is not what the landing page said", you are not alone. AI companion pricing in 2026 mixes flat subscriptions, token and coin packs, "unlimited" chat that only covers text, weekly plans, and yearly discounts that only pay off if you stay. The number in the headline, often something like "$3.99 a month", is rarely the number on your statement.

This guide works out what an AI girlfriend actually costs per month, using the platforms' own published plans: how the three pricing models work, when tokens beat a subscription, how far a monthly token allowance really stretches, what yearly and weekly billing do to the price, and the pricing traps to check before you link a card.

The short version: your bill is the price of the tier that holds the features you'll actually use, billed the way you'll actually pay, plus whatever images, video and calls cost on top. For text-first chat that can be nothing. For daily image, voice and video use it is often $30 to $60 a month, and more with top-ups.

Prices are as published at the time of our reviews and change often. Always confirm the price on the official checkout page the same day you buy.


How much does an AI girlfriend cost per month?

What you wantTypical monthly costPublished examples
Text chat only$0SpicyChat AI (unlimited messages, with ads and a queue), Selira AI (unlimited messages, no ads), Nomi AI (50 messages a day), AI Peeps (30 messages a day)
A paid plan, billed yearlyAbout $4–$15 a month, paid upfrontCandy AI $3.99/mo ($47.88/yr), GoLove AI PRO $4.15/mo, Replika from $49.99/yr (US App Store), MyDreamCompanion Premium $69.99/yr, Nomi AI $99.99/yr, SweetDream AI $179/yr
A paid plan, billed monthlyAbout $6–$20SpicyChat AI $5.95, AI Peeps $8.99, Nectar AI $9.99, MyDreamCompanion $11.99, Candy AI $13.99 ($9.99 first month), Kindroid and Nomi AI $15.99, Secrets AI $19.99
Daily images, voice and videoAbout $30–$60, more with top-ups or add-onsSpicyChat AI $29.95 (no video), AI Peeps Peep Pro $29.99, Nectar AI Ultimate $34.99, MyDreamCompanion Ultimate $44.99, FantasyGF Ultra and Darlink AI Ultimate $49.99, OurDream AI Deluxe $59.99

The top end goes further: Kindroid's subscription plus its Ultra memory add-on is $44.98 a month on the US App Store, and its MAX add-on, which also requires Ultra, adds another $68.99. Muah AI lists premium tiers up to $99.99 a month, a figure we couldn't re-verify against its site.

These ranges come straight from published plan prices, not from measured spending. Where you land inside them depends on three things: which pricing model the platform uses, how much media you generate, and whether you pay weekly, monthly or yearly.


The three pricing models

Platforms call their currency different things (tokens, coins, credits, Neurons, Moments, Hearts, Stars), but the mechanics come in three shapes. The useful mental model: subscriptions rent access; tokens buy compute. Text is cheap to run at scale. Images, voice and video are not, which is why so many plans advertise "unlimited" chat and meter everything else. Our glossary entry on the token system covers the basics.

1. Flat subscription

You pay a fixed fee and the tier decides what's unlocked. SpicyChat AI is the clearest example: Get a Taste ($5.95/month) removes ads and the waiting line and adds the Memory Manager; True Supporter ($19.95) adds 8K context, Semantic Memory 2.0 and conversation images; I'm All In ($29.95) adds up to 32K context, a priority queue, SpicyXL models and text-to-speech. There's no token economy layered on top.

  • Good for: daily chatters who want a predictable bill.
  • Watch for: you pay the same in weeks you barely open the app, and "unlimited" can come with ads, queues or fair-use limits.

2. Tokens or credits (pay per use)

You buy a pack, and each action (an image, a video, a voice clip, a call minute) spends a set amount. Selira AI is the cleanest example: chat is free, and image and video credits come either through plans from $7.99 a month or as one-off packs (50 credits for $7.99 up to 1,500 for $99.99) that never expire and need no subscription. Coin packs sold on top of a plan work the same way at MyDreamCompanion ($9.99 for 100 coins up to $149.99 for 3,750), Darlink AI ($9.99 for 100 tokens up to $599.99 for 7,500) and AI Peeps (PeepCoins by card or crypto; bought coins never expire).

  • Good for: occasional users who refuse to pay for idle months.
  • Watch for: unpredictable totals, opaque math ("how many images is 100 coins?") and running out mid-session.

3. Hybrid (subscription plus a token allowance)

A common shape among multimedia platforms. A subscription covers text chat and includes a monthly token or coin allowance; images, video, voice and calls spend it, and you buy more when it runs out.

  • SweetDream AI: Premium ($12.99/week, $79 every 3 months or $179/year) includes 400 tokens a month for images, video, voice messages and calls; extra packs start at $9.99 for 400.

  • Candy AI: Premium includes unlimited text chat and 100 tokens a month for voice, images, video and custom characters (330 on Premium Plus); each action shows its token cost before you confirm.

  • MyDreamCompanion: unlimited text plus 100 Dream Coins a month on Premium, 800 on Ultimate.

  • Darlink AI: unlimited text plus 100, 300 or 500 tokens a month depending on plan.

  • AI Peeps: unlimited chat on paid plans plus 300, 1,700 or 3,900 PeepCoins a month on Peep Chat, Peep Pal and Peep Pro.

  • OurDream AI: 1,000 DreamCoins a month on Premium and Yearly, 5,000 on Deluxe.

  • Good for: moderate users whose media use fits inside the allowance.

  • Watch for: two cost layers. You track a renewal date and a token balance, and heavy media users end up paying for both.

A few subscription tiers skip tokens for images altogether. Nectar AI Pro ($19.99/month) includes unlimited generations, and Soulkyn AI Deluxe (€49.99/month) includes unlimited image generations and voice messages. If you generate a lot of images, flat plans like these are the easiest to budget.


What a monthly token allowance actually buys

An allowance only means something once you divide it by the per-item costs. These platforms publish theirs:

PlanMonthly allowancePer imagePer videoCallsThe allowance alone covers about
SweetDream AI Premium400 tokens8802/min in the browser (+1 to start); 20/min to your phone (+10)50 images, or 5 videos, or 19 minutes of calls to your phone
MyDreamCompanion Premium100 coins3 (5 upscaled)from 20per minute33 images, or 5 short videos, or about 12 minutes of calls
MyDreamCompanion Ultimate800 coins3 (5 upscaled)from 20per minute266 images, or 40 short videos
Darlink AI Essential100 tokens220no calls50 images, or 5 videos
FantasyGF Premium100 tokensfrom 2from 68/minup to 50 NSFW pictures, 16 videos or 12 minutes of calls (FantasyGF's own figures)
AI Peeps Peep Chat300 PeepCoins10from 40voice has its own monthly voice tokens30 images, or 7 of the shortest videos
OurDream AI Premium1,000 DreamCoinsnot published in our sourcesbilled in 5-second steps50/min20 minutes of calls
Secrets AI Premium8,000 Momentsin Momentsin Moments50/min160 minutes of calls

Candy AI shows the token cost of each action before you confirm it; its per-image, per-video and per-voice costs aren't in our sources, but video uses more tokens than other actions, and heavy image or voice use on the 100-token allowance may mean top-ups.

What the table shows:

  • Video is where allowances disappear. One SweetDream AI video costs as much as ten images, and on MyDreamCompanion Premium or Darlink AI Essential, five short videos use the whole month's allowance.
  • Calls cost more than you'd guess. On SweetDream AI, a call to your own phone number costs ten times as much per minute as a browser call, and OurDream AI and Secrets AI charge 50 coins or Moments a minute.
  • Images are cheap per item but add up. 25 images a week is roughly 100 a month: 800 tokens on SweetDream AI (two months of allowance), 300 coins on MyDreamCompanion (three months of Premium's allowance), 200 tokens on Darlink AI (two months of Essential's).
  • Top-ups have a price per item too. At the smallest $9.99 packs, an extra image works out to about $0.20 on SweetDream AI and Darlink AI and about $0.30 on MyDreamCompanion, and an extra short video to about $2 on all three.

Tokens vs unlimited: which is cheaper for you?

First rule: read what "unlimited" modifies. Unlimited text is common. Unlimited everything is rare.

If you…Tokens tend to win when…A subscription tends to win when…
Chat dailyA free tier covers most of it and you rarely buy packsYou want a predictable bill and hate meters
Generate images oftenYou batch them in occasional burstsThe plan includes a real image allowance or unlimited generations
Use voice or videoYou use them rarelyThe included minutes or videos match what you actually use
Open the app a few times a monthAlmost alwaysRarely
Hate managing balancesNeverAlmost always

Three usage patterns

The daily texter. Many messages, few images, voice as a novelty. A free tier with generous text (SpicyChat AI, Selira AI, Nomi AI's 50 messages a day) or a cheap plan with unlimited text is the simplest choice. Paying per message for ordinary conversation gets old fast.

The weekend binger. Opens the app twice a week for a long session. Pay-as-you-go can be excellent here, especially packs that never expire (Selira AI credits, bought AI Peeps PeepCoins), because you aren't paying for idle weeks.

The multimedia hobbyist. Images in the thread, voice notes, short clips, calls. This user almost always ends up on hybrid pricing, so the number to estimate is media per week, not the subscription headline. One exciting weekend of images and video can move you into a different cost class for the month.

Work out your break-even in four steps

  1. Write down a typical week: messages, images, videos, voice or call minutes.
  2. Map each action to the platform's published per-item costs (see the table above).
  3. Multiply by 4.3 for a monthly estimate.
  4. Compare that with the cheapest tier that includes what you actually use.

If the two land close together, choose on peace of mind. Paying a little more to stop thinking about meters is a rational choice. The mistake is paying for that peace of mind and still buying packs every weekend because the plan left out the media you actually use.

Free tiers make a good forecasting lab. Use one for a week: if you hit the cap in two days, you're a subscription candidate, not a token minimalist.

When "cheap" tokens get expensive

Small packs look affordable until you buy them weekly. The entry packs at SweetDream AI, MyDreamCompanion and Darlink AI are all $9.99; four in a month is about $40, more than many full subscriptions. If one month of pack purchases, multiplied by 12, is a number you don't like, a plan with a bigger allowance is probably the cheaper option.

Watch model upgrades the same way. On some platforms a better model costs extra: Nectar AI's credits pay for premium models, and Polybuzz coins buy premium-model rounds. If a heavier model drains your balance faster and you can't point to a concrete improvement after a week, switch back.


Monthly budgets by user profile

Three common profiles, mapped to the published plan that covers each one:

  • Light: mostly text, a few sessions a week, the occasional image.
  • Medium: daily chat, regular images, occasional voice.
  • Heavy: several sessions a day, frequent images, voice in most sessions, some video or calls.
PlatformLightMediumHeavy
SpicyChat AIFree$5.95 (ad-free, Memory Manager) or $19.95 (conversation images, Semantic Memory 2.0)$29.95 (up to 32K context, SpicyXL, text-to-speech); no video
SweetDream AIFree (daily messages with ready-made characters)Premium: $179/yr or $79 per 3 monthsPremium plus token packs (from $9.99 for 400) for calls and video
AI PeepsFree (30 messages a day)Peep Chat $8.99 or Peep Pal $14.99Peep Pro $29.99 (3,900 PeepCoins a month)
Candy AIFree account (5 messages)Premium: $13.99/mo or $3.99/mo yearly, within the 100-token allowancePremium Plus (330 tokens) or Premium plus top-ups
MyDreamCompanionFree (limited messages, 30 coins at sign-up)Premium: $11.99 or $5.84/mo yearly (100 coins)Ultimate: $44.99 or $24.99/mo yearly (800 coins), plus packs
Nectar AIFree (15 messages a day)Premium: $9.99Ultimate: $34.99
ReplikaFreeFrom $7.99/mo or from $49.99/yr (US App Store)Ultra (annual, priced in the app) or Platinum ($89.99, adds selfie videos)
KindroidOne-time 50-message previewSubscription: $15.99 (US App Store)Subscription plus Ultra ($28.99), and MAX ($68.99) on top of Ultra

What that means for your budget:

  • Light users: $0, or about $4–$6 a month on a yearly plan. Text-first users can spend nothing for a long time.
  • Medium users: roughly $6–$20 a month on monthly billing, less if you commit to a year.
  • Heavy users: roughly $30–$60 a month on top tiers, before top-ups. Coin and token platforms bend upward with media use; on Kindroid, memory add-ons are what push the price up.

Single-tier platforms are the most predictable. SweetDream AI, our highest-rated platform (9.1), has one paid tier, so heavy use doesn't push you into a pricier plan, though calls and media still spend tokens. Pick the platform whose feature set matches how you'll actually use it, not the one whose features you'll be tempted into: a heavy image user on a $10 plan can end up paying far more than $10, while a heavy text user on the same plan often pays just the $10.


Yearly, monthly or weekly: the billing math

Almost every platform discounts yearly billing. The savings below are worked out from each platform's published prices.

PlatformMonthlyYearlyPer month on yearlySaving vs monthly
Candy AI Premium$13.99 ($9.99 first month)$47.88$3.99~71%
GoLove AI PRO$13.99billed yearly (total not stated)$4.15~70%
SweetDream AI PremiumNo monthly plan ($12.99/week)$179~$14.92~73% vs weekly billing
FantasyGF Premium$12.99$69.99~$5.83~55% (advertised as 75% off)
Secrets AI Premium$19.99$109.99~$9.17~54%
MyDreamCompanion Premium$11.99$69.99$5.84~51% (marketed as 70% off)
MyDreamCompanion Ultimate$44.99$299.88$24.99~44%
Nectar AI Premium / Ultimate$9.99 / $34.99$59.99 / $179.99~$5 / ~$15~50% / ~57%
Nomi AI Standard$15.99$99.99~$8.33~48%
Nastia AI Basic$11.99$87.95$7.33~39%
AI Peeps (any tier)$8.99–$29.9910x the monthly price~$7.49–$24.99~17% ("two months free")
Kindroid (US App Store)$15.99$159.99~$13.33~17%
SpicyChat AI$5.95–$29.95annual billing (prices not stated)not stated~16%
Replika (US App Store)$7.99 or $14.99$49.99 or $69.99~$4.17–$5.83varies by listing

Two things stand out. Advertised discounts aren't always what the math says: MyDreamCompanion's "70% off" works out to about 51% below its monthly Premium price. And yearly discounts run from about 16% to over 70%, so "save with yearly" means very different things on different platforms.

Weekly plans cost more than they look

A few platforms bill by the week. Multiply by 52 and divide by 12 to see what that is per month:

PlatformWeekly priceMonthly equivalentCheaper way to pay
SweetDream AI Premium$12.99~$56.29$79 every 3 months ($26.33/mo) or $179/yr ($14.92/mo)
Kupid AI Pro$12.99~$56.29$179/yr
Kupid AI Ultra$24.99~$108.29$299/yr
Romantic AI Premium (App Store)$6.99~$30.29$14.99/month or $44.99/yr
Jupi AI Premium (US App Store)$9.99~$43.29$19.99/month or $149.99/yr

A weekly plan is a reasonable way to look at paid features for a few days. Left running, it's usually the most expensive way to pay for the same thing.

When yearly is real savings, and when it's a trap

Yearly billing is real savings if you'll use the platform for most of the year. It's a trap if you're still experimenting: novelty wears off, another platform may suit you better, and a platform can change its features or content rules while your year runs. Many platforms don't refund unused time; MyDreamCompanion, for example, refunds only for company-side errors, annual plans included.

The defensible order: free tier first, then a month or two on monthly billing, then yearly once the app has earned a permanent slot in your routine rather than a weekend's curiosity. Check what a yearly plan renews at, too. Discounts shown for a first subscription (SweetDream AI labels its longer plans this way) aren't necessarily what the second year costs.

The annualization shortcut

  • Monthly plan: price × 12. $15.99 a month is $191.88 a year.
  • Weekly plan: price × 52. $12.99 a week is $675.48 a year.
  • Token packs: what you bought in a typical recent month × 12.
  • Hybrid: subscription plus a realistic top-up estimate from your last few months, × 12. This is the easiest one to underestimate, because the subscription is memorable and the top-ups aren't. Your bank statement is the source of truth, not your memory.

The pricing traps to check before you pay

None of these is unique to one company; most are standard freemium patterns. Knowing them lets you spot when a product advertised at $9.99 will cost two or three times that for the way you plan to use it.

1. "Unlimited" that only covers text

Many plans advertise unlimited chat, then meter everything that costs real compute: images, voice, video, calls and sometimes premium models. Check whether "unlimited" in the plan details only applies to messages, and treat token packs sold as recurring top-ups as the clearest sign of a token economy. Free "unlimited" can carry conditions too: SpicyChat AI's free tier has unlimited messages but shows ads and can put you in a waiting queue.

Some plans also cap usage per day rather than per month. Nastia AI's Basic plan gives 200 tokens a day, and Kindroid's selfie credits accrue at one per 30 minutes (holding up to 25). A plan can look generous per month and still feel tight in one long session.

2. Free tiers built to convert you

Free tiers are real value when they're usable and a sales funnel when they're not. The usual limits: daily message caps that one conversation can use up, small memory, blurred images, and the most appealing characters locked.

PlatformWhat free gets you
SpicyChat AIUnlimited messages and character creation, full library; ads and a waiting queue
Selira AIUnlimited messages with no ads, 2 custom companions, 4 starter image credits plus 1 a day, 3-day chat history
Nomi AI50 messages a day and 2 images a day; no card needed
AI Peeps30 messages a day and a sign-up PeepCoin bonus
SweetDream AIDaily free messages with ready-made characters; no custom companions, media or calls
Secrets AI20 responses a day and 200 Moments at sign-up
Nectar AI15 messages and 10 generations a day
FantasyGF16 messages and one image-generation trial; NSFW pictures blurred
Kupid AI15 messages
Candy AI5 messages in total, 1 custom character, 1 image
Darlink AI5 messages, 3 images a day, no token allowance
KindroidNo ongoing free tier: a one-time 50-message preview, then read-only until you subscribe

Use the free tier for a few sessions and ask: would I be happy with this for a year? If yes, don't upgrade. If not, the paid tier is the actual product, and that's the price to compare. Our guide to the best free AI girlfriend apps in 2026 goes deeper on what each free tier includes.

3. Headline prices that need a year upfront

The lowest advertised price is usually a yearly plan shown per month (or per week), and the feature that made you pick the platform often sits on a higher tier. Here is the headline next to the plan you may actually need:

PlatformLowest advertised priceSame plan, shortest billingPlan with the full feature setOur score
SweetDream AI$3.44/week (Premium, $179/yr)$12.99/week (no monthly plan)Premium is the only paid tier; calls, images and video spend tokens9.1
Kindroid~$13.33/mo ($159.99/yr, US App Store)$15.99/moSubscription plus Ultra ($28.99/mo), and MAX ($68.99/mo) on top of Ultra, as memory add-ons8.6
Candy AI$3.99/mo (Premium, yearly)$13.99/mo ($9.99 first month)Premium Plus (price not stated), plus token top-ups for heavy use8.5
MyDreamCompanion$5.84/mo (Premium, yearly)$11.99/moUltimate: $24.99/mo yearly or $44.99 monthly8.3
Muah AI$9.99/mo (Basic VIP)$9.99/moPremium tiers up to $99.99/mo8.3
Nectar AI~$5/mo (Premium, $59.99/yr)$9.99/moUltimate: $34.99/mo or $179.99/yr7.9
SpicyChat AI$5.95/mo (Get a Taste)$5.95/moI'm All In: $29.95/mo7.8
GoLove AI$4.15/mo (PRO, yearly)$13.99/moULTRA (price not stated)7.7
ReplikaFrom $49.99/yr (~$4.17/mo, US App Store)From $7.99/moUltra (annual, priced in the app) or Platinum ($89.99)7.4
Secrets AI$9.17/mo (Premium, $109.99/yr)$19.99/moUltimate: $39.99/mo or $319.99/yr7.4
Kupid AI~$3.44/week (Pro, $179/yr)$12.99/week (no monthly plan)Ultra: $24.99/week or $299/yr4.9

Muah AI's prices come from our review and couldn't be re-verified against its site, so check them there. Scores are our editorial ratings; our review methodology explains how they're calculated.

4. Tier ladders built to upsell

Many platforms ship two or three paid tiers, and the pricing page works hard to make the top one feel necessary. The feature gap between tiers is often smaller than the price gap.

  • SpicyChat AI: $5.95 (ad-free, 4K context, Memory Manager) → $19.95 (8K context, Semantic Memory 2.0, conversation images, advanced models) → $29.95 (up to 32K context, priority queue, SpicyXL, text-to-speech)
  • Nectar AI: $9.99 → $19.99 → $34.99 (Ultimate adds unlimited messaging, long-term memory, video generation and Nectar's top models)
  • Darlink AI: $12.99 → $27.99 → $49.99 (Ultimate adds 500 tokens a month and Living Memory)

The first step up is often meaningful for regular users. Whether the top tier is worth it depends entirely on whether you'll use the feature it gates: on Nectar AI, long-term memory sits on Ultimate, so if memory matters to you, $34.99 is the real price. Start at the entry paid tier and upgrade only when you hit a limit you actually care about. A tell that you were upsold past your needs: within a couple of months you downgrade instead of leaving.

5. Add-ons and extras on top of the subscription

Some features cost extra even on paid plans:

  • Kindroid sells Ultra ($28.99) and MAX ($68.99) memory add-ons monthly on top of the $15.99 subscription, unlocked only for accounts with significant chat and call history; selfie credits, Kindroid slots and audio credits are sold separately.
  • Candy AI's character builder uses more tokens the more detail you add.
  • Nomi AI sells Credits to subscribers (40 for $4.99 up to 1,800 for $99.99) for extra selfies, videos, Nomi slots and group chats.
  • Joi AI sells paid subscriptions to individual characters on top of Premium.
  • Romantic AI pays for photo and audio generations with Hearts; Premium includes 100 a day on the web app, and extra packs start at $4.99.

6. Tokens that expire or don't roll over

Read the rollover rule before you buy a large pack:

  • Candy AI: subscription tokens must be used within their billing period.
  • AI Peeps: the monthly PeepCoin allowance resets each cycle without rollover, but PeepCoins you buy never expire.
  • Selira AI: one-off credit packs never expire.
  • Joi AI: the monthly quota of free generations rolls over if unused.

If you're about to cancel a hybrid plan with a meaningful balance left, use the tokens first, then cancel. Rollover terms change, so save the policy text when you subscribe.

7. Intro prices, permanent promos and countdown timers

Many platforms show a discounted price most of the time:

  • Candy AI's monthly Premium is $9.99 for the first month, then $13.99.
  • GirlfriendGPT lists Premium at a limited-time $12.99 a month against a list price of $19.99.
  • OurDream AI shows Premium as 50% off $39.99 and its yearly plan as 75% off.
  • SweetDream AI shows its longer plans at up to 75% off for a first subscription.
  • FantasyGF advertises its $69.99 yearly Premium as 75% off.

The promo price is often the price the platform expects new users to pay, and promotions like these tend to come back, so countdown timers and "24 hours only" banners are worth ignoring. Separate the intro price from the renewal price before you subscribe, and screenshot the checkout page with the date. If you compare a subscription with token packs during a sale, compare again at the post-sale price. Current offers are collected on our deals page.

Two related catches. Free trials that need a card convert automatically: Kindroid's 3-day premium trial needs a payment method and becomes a paid subscription unless you cancel. And price changes can reward staying put: when SpicyChat AI changed its prices on September 8, 2026, earlier subscribers kept their old price while their plan stayed active, so cancelling and coming back later means paying the current price.

8. Limited refunds and cancellation friction

Refund rules vary widely. Per our reviews:

PlatformRefund policy
Candy AICard refunds within 24 hours, and only if 20 or fewer tokens were used (EU/UK withdrawal rights differ)
GirlfriendGPTSubscription refunds only if requested within 24 hours of payment
MyDreamCompanionNo refunds except for company-side errors or technical issues, annual plans included
Nomi AISubscriptions are non-refundable
Nectar AIFees already paid are generally non-refundable
Romantic AISubscriptions are final; refunds only in limited cases such as a technical error
Kupid AIAll sales are final
KindroidConsidered case by case and generally not offered
Jupi AIBilled and refunded through Apple

Cancellation is easiest when a subscription runs through the App Store or Google Play, where you can cancel from your device's subscription settings, or when the web account settings have a clear cancel option. Friction looks like no self-service cancel (email support only), retention offers and several confirmation screens. Three rules:

  1. Weigh app-store against web billing. App-store subscriptions are easy to cancel from your device, but web checkout can be cheaper; Kindroid says buying on the web is usually cheaper.
  2. Save the original confirmation email. Disputes are easier with the original transaction record.
  3. Cancel a few days before renewal, not on the day. Prorated refunds are uncommon, and a cancellation processed on renewal day may not stop the next charge.

Our cancellation and refunds guide covers the platform-by-platform steps.

9. Auto top-up and one-click buys

Auto top-up prevents interruptions mid-chat, and it also removes friction right when you're most engaged. Where a platform offers it, set a monthly cap if you can; if there's no cap, leave it off and top up by hand.

10. Multi-platform stacking

The quietest cost of all: you sign up for a second platform "just to compare", keep it for one character you like, then add a third, and never decide to pay for all three. An example stack using published prices:

  • Replika: $7.99 a month (US App Store)
  • SweetDream AI Premium, quarterly: about $26.33 a month ($79 every 3 months)
  • Kindroid: $15.99 a month (US App Store)
  • Total: about $50.31 a month, or about $604 a year

Different platforms do serve different needs, but two of three can easily overlap. A monthly audit ("did I actually use this in the last 30 days?") is the simplest fix, and a calendar reminder on day 28 of any trial forces a cancel-or-keep decision. If you're consolidating, our migration guide covers moving cleanly.

11. Taxes, currency and store pricing

  • Candy AI quotes USD prices and notes that local taxes may apply.
  • Soulkyn AI prices its plans in euros, so cards in other currencies may see conversion fees.
  • App-store prices follow the local storefront, and web prices can differ: Nomi AI bills web subscriptions in USD while its app-store prices follow local pricing, and Kindroid shows the exact price for your country at checkout.
  • A yearly plan lands as one charge, which makes tax and conversion fees more noticeable.

Always check the final checkout total, not the headline monthly number.


Discreet billing: what shows on your statement

Many users care what appears on a card or bank statement. Our reviews record what these platforms state:

Not every platform says how it bills, so check the FAQ or ask support before subscribing. Our AI companion privacy guide covers billing and data handling in more depth.


Which platforms are clear about pricing

Some platforms make it easy to know what you'll pay; others make you dig. Based on what our reviews found in published pricing:

Clearer:

  • SpicyChat AI: simple tiers, unlimited free text, each tier's features listed
  • MyDreamCompanion: publishes its coin cost for every image, video, voice message and character creation
  • SweetDream AI: a single paid tier with weekly, 3-month and yearly prices and published token costs
  • AI Peeps: published monthly allowances and coin costs for images and videos
  • Candy AI: shows the token cost of each action before you confirm
  • GoLove AI: PRO prices for monthly, 3-month and yearly billing (the ULTRA price isn't listed)

Less clear:

  • Kindroid: no price list on its website; prices appear at checkout and in the app stores
  • Nomi AI: no pricing page on the marketing site; prices appear in the app stores and per-feature limits in its help wiki
  • Replika: prices are shown in the app, with no public price list
  • Muah AI: premium tiers listed as "up to $99.99" a month; check the site for current plans

This isn't a moral judgement; it's a usability signal. When you can't see the price of the feature you want before signing up, assume it's higher than the headline.


How to sanity-check a price in ten minutes

  1. Find the renewal price and billing period, not the promo price. Weekly, monthly and yearly can differ by a factor of three or more.
  2. Find the token or credit page even if you plan to subscribe: what costs tokens, how much, and whether they roll over.
  3. Search the FAQ and terms for cap, fair use, throttle, queue, daily limit and refund.
  4. Find the tier that holds the feature you actually want, and price that tier, not the entry plan.
  5. Set a media budget honestly. If you want images, assume you'll use them when you're bored.
  6. Shortlist two alternatives in our rankings and the Compare tool, so one landing page doesn't decide for you. When a new name shows up in our news, treat it as a reason to research, not to subscribe on day one.

A spending plan that avoids the traps

  1. Try free first. Use the free tier for a few sessions; the two-session memory check in our memory guide is a quick way to judge whether the free experience would satisfy you long-term.
  2. Pay monthly at the entry tier. Not yearly, not the top tier. A month or two tells you whether to upgrade, stay or move.
  3. Keep a two-week usage diary. Note messages, images, videos and voice minutes each night. On a token platform, how fast your balance drops in the first month is your real cost.
  4. Go yearly only after a full billing cycle, and only if you'd keep the app for most of the year.
  5. Audit monthly. Cancel anything you didn't use in the last 30 days. Paying should be a decision, not a default.
  6. Re-run the math after big updates. When a platform changes models or token costs, your old estimate goes stale.

First time choosing a platform? Our beginner's guide walks through picking one without spending money in the first week, and our AI girlfriend platforms hub links every review with its plans and limits.


Related reading


Frequently Asked Questions

How much does an AI girlfriend cost per month?

It depends on how you use it. Text-only users can pay nothing on free tiers such as SpicyChat AI's or Selira AI's. Paid plans run about $4–$15 a month when billed yearly and about $6–$20 a month when billed monthly. Daily image, voice and video users typically need a top tier at about $30–$60 a month, plus token top-ups, and add-ons or weekly billing can push that higher.

Are tokens cheaper than a subscription?

For occasional users, often yes: free chat plus a pack that never expires (Selira AI credits, bought AI Peeps PeepCoins) avoids paying for idle months. For daily users, a subscription with unlimited text is usually cheaper and simpler. Estimate a typical week of messages, images and videos, convert it with the platform's per-item costs, and compare that with the tier that covers it.

Is "unlimited chat" really unlimited?

Usually it means unlimited text messages. Images, voice, video, calls and premium models often still spend tokens or sit behind caps, and free "unlimited" tiers can come with ads or queues, as on SpicyChat AI. Read what the word "unlimited" applies to in the plan details.

What does an image or video cost in tokens?

On the platforms that publish it: SweetDream AI charges 8 tokens per image and 80 per video from a 400-token monthly allowance; MyDreamCompanion 3 coins per image and from 20 per video, with 100 coins a month on Premium; Darlink AI 2 tokens per image and 20 per video; AI Peeps 10 PeepCoins per image and from 40 per video. At the smallest $9.99 packs, that's roughly $0.20–$0.30 per extra image and about $2 per extra short video.

What's the cheapest way to get an AI girlfriend?

For text chat, a free tier: SpicyChat AI and Selira AI offer unlimited messages, and Nomi AI allows 50 a day. Among paid plans, the lowest yearly prices we list include Romantic AI ($44.99 a year on the App Store), Candy AI ($3.99 a month, billed $47.88 yearly), GoLove AI PRO ($4.15 a month billed yearly) and Replika (from $49.99 a year on the US App Store). Check what each plan includes before choosing on price alone.

Should I pay yearly or monthly?

Monthly for the first month or two, then yearly only if you'll keep using the platform for most of the year. Yearly discounts range from about 16% (SpicyChat AI) to over 70% (Candy AI, GoLove AI), but many platforms don't refund unused time, MyDreamCompanion's annual plans included. Paying annually on day one, before you know whether you like the product, is the pricing mistake most worth avoiding.

Why did my bill go up after the first month?

The usual causes are an intro price ending (Candy AI's monthly Premium is $9.99 for the first month, then $13.99), a free trial converting to a paid plan, token top-ups or auto top-up, add-ons, or switching to a pricier model. Check the renewal terms on your receipt and any top-up settings in your account.

What happens to unused tokens?

It depends on the platform. Candy AI's subscription tokens must be used within their billing period, and AI Peeps' monthly PeepCoin allowance resets without rollover, while bought PeepCoins and Selira AI's credit packs never expire. If you plan to cancel, spend your balance first.

Is a top-tier plan ever worth it?

Yes, if you'll often use the feature it gates: long-term memory and video on Nectar AI Ultimate, ultra long-term memory and longer videos on MyDreamCompanion Ultimate, or bigger memory on Kindroid's Ultra and MAX add-ons. If you won't, the entry or middle tier usually covers you.

Can I get a refund on an AI girlfriend subscription?

Often not, or only in a narrow window. Candy AI refunds card payments within 24 hours if 20 or fewer tokens were used, GirlfriendGPT only within 24 hours of payment, and MyDreamCompanion only for company-side errors; Nomi AI, Romantic AI and Kupid AI treat subscriptions as final. App Store and Google Play purchases go through the stores' own refund processes. Our cancellation guide has the details.

Do AI companion apps charge tax?

Often, depending on your region and how you pay. Candy AI notes that local taxes may apply, app-store prices follow local storefronts, and Soulkyn AI bills in euros, so currency conversion fees can apply too. Check the final checkout total rather than the headline price.

Are there AI girlfriend platforms with no hidden costs?

Single-tier platforms come closest. SweetDream AI has one paid tier with published weekly, 3-month and yearly prices and published token costs, though calls and media spend tokens. SpicyChat AI's tiers are simple, with no token economy on top. Even so, the yearly price is usually the headline, and features like voice or images still sit on paid plans.

How do I stop spending too much on AI companions?

Audit monthly. List every AI subscription and pack purchase on your statement and cancel anything you didn't use in the last 30 days. Set a weekly image budget if you tend to binge, keep auto top-up off unless it has a cap, and set a day-28 reminder whenever you try a new platform.

Related Reviews

Back to Blog · Compare platforms · AI Match Quiz